I’ve participated in memes and challenges before, but this is my first nomination for a blog hop. Cue the big band and release the balloons and streamers! Thank you Raewyn Hewitt!!! I’m pretty late in getting it done – Hey! I didn’t say stop the music! I said late, not lazy. – Er… as I was saying, I had family in town just after getting back from a  vacation. I realize there are many amazing people out there who can get anything done under any circumstances, but not I. No, friends, I-

You’ll have to come in closer for this. I must whisper, or I might cause a panic. I’m about to reveal something only everybody who has to interact with me on a regular basis knows. Something… counter-cultural about myself.

I am a mono-tasker. That’s right. I only do ONE THING at a time. Like they did in the old days. Most recently, I happened to be visiting with family.

Phew! That wasn’t so bad. Wanna hear something else? I don’t own an iPhone! Even weirder? I don’t want one! Bwahahahahaha! Look at me and my bad self!

Now that you know why this didn’t get done sooner, on to the Next Big Thing Blog Hop! I currently have two works in progress, but as I know the characters from the first better, I’ll answer for that one.

THE NEXT BIG THING BLOG HOP.

What is the working title of your book?

Faerie Blood

Where did the idea come from for the book?

I find the human body fascinating. Not in a Renaissance Art way. In a, “Whoa! Did you see this epithelial sample?” or even a, “You say you have a fungal infection in your eye? How fascinating! Er, I mean, wow, that must be awful. I’m so sorry to hear that… Tell me all about it,” way.

Disturbing. I know.

Mid-year 2011, I was mulling over the idea of writing a story about a part-human, part-mythical-creature woman, [removed due to an interesting development] Thus was born Fairy Blood.

What genre does your book fall under?

Contemporary Fantasy

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

When Harsha learns that the disease killing her and her brother is not of human origin, she sets out on a quest to find a magical cure in a world that lost its magic centuries ago.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Um… Maybe Chris Hemsworth could be a good Zeeb. Zeeb is my werewolf. Mr. Hemsworth would be a bit tall and beefy for Zeeb, but he does the long-hair-and-beard-look well and I think his acting style would suit the character. Harsha… hmm. Maybe Liv Tyler? Maybe. Or Cate Blanchett. One of those ladies who can pull of graceful, tired, upset, and overjoyed in one scene. I don’t think I’ve seen any actresses who could really pull off Seraph, the dragon, without seeming like a feminist statement.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Self-published.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

One month

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Er, I haven’t actually read much Contemporary Fantasy. Something like The Spiderwick Chronicles for grown-ups would come close. -ish.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Self-sacrifice; Searing loss; Clean romance; A bipolar Faerie

The lovely lady, Raewyn Hewitt, who nominated me for the blog hop also nominated me for the Leibester Award. I am so feeling the love about now! Can you tell my eyes are twinkling and I’m squeezing the life out of a happy little pink bunny? You can read my answers to Raewyn’s questions here.

For the Next Big Thing Blog Hop, I nominate:

Abby Foster

Aislinn Batstone

Ciara Ballintyne

Dreampunk Geek

Elizabeth

Mel Green

Michael A. Rothman

Nethene Khthon

Scallywag

Oleg Medvedkov

Rayne Hall

Rose Andrea

Simon Dewar

Starla Hutchton

Now, I may be a little pretentious to ask some of you to notice my blog and respond to it. I’m not even sure some of you have blogs yet. Consider it a compliment and respond or ignore as fits your schedule.

