Those of you who read my Next Big Thing Blog Hop post may have noticed this little blurb at the bottom of the post:

The lovely lady, Raewyn Hewitt, who nominated me for the blog hop also nominated me for the Liebester Award. I am so feeling the love about now! Can you tell my eyes are twinkling and I’m squeezing the life out of a happy little pink bunny? Since this post is plenty long as it is, I’ll post my answers to Raewyn’s questions and write-up my own another day.

Ladies and Gentlemen! My not-so-long awaited Liebester Award responses! The questions are posed by Raewyn Hewitt. (In case you didn’t catch it, this post now contains three links to her blog. You really should go check it out. It’s very good.)

1. What was the weirdest thing you wanted to be when you were a child?

Snake charmer, perhaps? That’s sort of odd for little kids, right?

2. What is your favourite sandwich filling?

My all time favorite sandwich filling is dark chocolate, preferably 88% cocoa. (I’m counting S’mores as sandwiches. They have a bread-like food item on top and bottom. That makes them sandwiches.)

3. Who, in your opinion, is the most memorable villain of all time? GOLLUM!

Gollum in Rankin/Bass's animated version of Th...

Gollum in Rankin/Bass’s animated version of The Hobbit (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I could really go on and on about him. When I first read, “A sudden understanding, a pity mixed with horror, welled up in Bilbo’s heart,” as a tween, I hardly noticed it. Gollum was memorable at the time because of his boogeyman-esque behavior. As I read the book to my children, though, the line brought to mind many patients from my days of working in hospitals, people left to linger on and on as burdens to overworked CNA’s and nurses while their family and friends forgot them. The fate was often well deserved, as was Gollum’s. Nevertheless, we all need compassion from someone. (Tolkein; The Hobbit; ch. 5)

I could go into his dissociative disorder, too, but I won’t, since nobody reading this wants to read a whole essay on one character today.

4. What was the weirdest thing you ever saw a kid do at school?

One student managed to drive his car onto the top of another car by mistake one morning. That was interesting.

5. What is your favourite colour and why?

Blue. It’s the color of a clean ocean and a clear sky.

6. Has a place ever inspired you to write a story?

Some scenes are most definitely inspired by places, but I don’t think I’ve ever written an entire story because a place inspired me.

7. Dogs or Cats?

Both. As in, “You need both because one protects your home from big intruders (people) and the other from small intruders (mice).”

8. Do you have any embarrassing writing stories you’d be willing to share?

I once typed, “Please join us for snakes and crack” on some invitations. I meant cake and snacks, but my fingers couldn’t keep up with my brain. I think the spell-check added the r to cack. Fortunately, my sister caught the mistake before we sent out the invitations.

9. Has a character ever taken over one of your stories in an unexpected way?

Arrgh! Yes! One of my women was supposed to be a reluctant bride, but she turned out to be a hopeless romantic. Gag! Her mushiness took up too much of the hero’s adventures. She was supposed to add to the trouble, not alleviate it.

10. Who are your writing heroes?

C.S. Lewis, Tolkein, Agatha Christie, Charles Dickens, Beverly Cleary, Robert Aspirin. All of them write/wrote skilfully and diligently, if not prolifically. If you mean independent authors or newcomers to this century, Lindsay Buroker is a good candidate from what I’ve read so far.

11. Can you remember the first time you saw Star Wars. (Have you seen Star Wars???)

I think I was 9. Maybe 10. I watched the original trilogy every night for about three straight months when I was twelve (I was grounded for the summer but TV was okayed). Oddly, for all my enthusiasm for watching the movies, I never developed true fan tendencies. However, I like to think it was at least partially my influence that inspired my sister to answer the door one fine evening with, “Help me Pizza-man! You’re my only hope!” (She even wore a white dress and styled her hair in twin buns! It was awesome!)

Quick reminder! If you did the Next Big Thing Blog Hop, please let me know so I can come and read it. =0)

Okay. So now it’s my turn to give the Leibester Award. Here are my questions:

1. If you could rewrite a “classic” book, which would it be?

2. Of all the book-to-movie adaptations you’ve seen, which is the worst?

3. Is there a book you’d like to see as a movie that is not yet a movie (that you know of)?

4. Beatrice Potter or Dr. Seuss?

5. How do you choose names for your characters?

6. What was the worst book you had to read for school?

7. Who is your favorite cartoon character?

8. Heroes or villains?

9. If you could pick a destination anywhere in the world for a 30 day, total-seclusion writing retreat, where would you go?

10. What is the current state of the inside of your sock drawer? This is a deep psychological question. Be careful how you answer! (Extra points for anyone who knows what I’m referencing.)

11. If  you had no other options, would you choose Earth-bound immortality or death before your next birthday? This is not a deep psychological question.

And here are the 11 (plus 1) recipients:

Alana Terry

Abby Foster

Ciara Ballintyne

Dreampunk Geek

Mel Green

Nethene Khthon

Scallywag

Oleg Medvedkov

Rose Andrea

Simon Dewar

Starla Hutchton

Raewyn Hewitt This is not strictly according to the rules, but I’m interested in Raewyn’s answers. (Okay! So now there are 5 links to her blog in this post. Think I may be trying to throw out a hint?)

