Friday came and went, and I didn’t realize it until about 11 PM. Needless to say, I have no short story to offer. (In my defense, I was working intensely on Fairy blood instead. ) In lieu of the short story, I offer pictures. I haven’t shown off Alaska for a while, and this was such a lovely summer for showing off.

The first few are from the Musk Ox Farm. Beloved hadn’t been there yet, but I’ve been twice. It’s one of those places that is worth the price once, but not often after that, so I opted to wait in the car.  Thus, I wasn’t around for the taking of the pictures. The two pictures after the musk ox are from our camping trip. I was there for those. 🙂 I threw in the fawn for free. We’ve visited him/her several times this summer. Hopefully I’ll have some amazing pictures of blueberry picking to share by the end of the month as well.

Cows and calves

Cows and calves

 

It's hot out. Think I'll lay down.

It’s hot out. Think I’ll lay down.

 

Munch, munch.

Munch, munch.

 

One trail that runs along Eagle River.

One trail that runs along Eagle River.

 

 

With all the amazing stuff to see, this minute bit of white on green is what caught my eye. The flower, intact, fell on the leaf that way. I think it's pretty. :-)

With all the amazing stuff to see, this minute bit of white on green is what caught my eye. The flower, intact, fell on the leaf that way. I think it’s pretty. 🙂

 

There were twin fawns born at the zoo this year. We didn't get a picture of him, but there's a turkey we're pretty sure believes it's the fawns father. When we went early in the summer, he fluffed his feathers and did his stay-back thing while his lady-love, the deer, grazed behind him. Now that the fawns are born, he just sits next to their mini-enclosure. He's not aggressive, but he's always there.

There were twin fawns born at the zoo this year. We didn’t get a picture of him, but there’s a turkey we’re pretty sure believes it’s the fawns’ father sitting nearby. When we went early in the summer, he fluffed his feathers and did his stay-back thing while his lady-love, the deer, grazed behind him. Now that the fawns are born, he just sits next to their mini-enclosure. He’s not aggressive, but he’s always there.

 

 

 

 

 

