WIPpet Banner

Happy Wednesday! (Or Thursday, or Friday, or Whenever.)

The results of my poll are in. I have to admit, I almost chickened out. After all, putting out a “where did my stats go?” poll like that just looks so… so…

Fran_Vesel_-_double

In actuality, it was just marketing research, and I’m very glad I didn’t chicken out. Why am I glad, you ask? Because I think a few other people were happy to find out it wasn’t just them or their new writing project. The consensus? It’s summer. People don’t want to stare at their computer screen when it’s nice outside. (It’s good to know the machines haven’t completely eaten our brains, isn’t it?) In case you are interested, I took a look at my long term stats and the pattern does indeed hold. I have just three years to look at and my stats only picked up in the last several months, so I can’t do any solid statistical analysis, but it looks like stats will gradually drop until after the end-of-year holidays and jump again in spring. If anyone is willing to share, I would love to gather a larger sample.

Alright. Enough of that. It’s WIPpet time! I have 19 sentences this week. 14 + 1 + 4 = 19

Last week, a feisty old woman thwacked her way to the front of the meeting hall. Here she is again. The woman formerly known as MasterWifeName finally has a real name. Ouida. In my head, it sounds like “weed-ah”. I have no idea how it’s pronounced in the original language (French). It means “famous warrior”, which fits the character nicely. Since she’s not likely to be in many scenes, I’m not concerned with how easy it is to pronounce her name. If you speak French, feel free to correct my mental pronunciation. Arvid’s tribe also has a real name now. They are the Nairi Kingdom.

The High Elder rolled his eyes again. “Please sit down, Mother.”

The crone shook her cane at the High Elder. “At least tell us you have a girl ready! You can’t expect these great warriors,” she paused in her rant to turn toward Ouida and her companions. She arched her back further, dropping her head as low as her gnarled frame allowed, in a reverent half-bow that was painful to watch. She worked her hands, one over the other, up her staff until she pulled herself into standing once more. “You cannot expect one of them to go. They have done enough for our people. More than some.” She glared at the High Elder.

The High Elder lifted his hands in frustration. “Mother, go sit down.”

The crone shook her stick again. “I’ll sit down when you show me the girl.”

The High Elder sighed deeply, like a persecuted martyr who saw no other way to end their misery but to acquiesce to the demands of his torturer. “Very well. Master of Combat, bring them forth.”

If you enjoy reading novel excerpts from up-and-coming authors, click on the appropriately labeled, smiley, little, blue fellow in the right-hand menu. WIPpet Wednesday is hosted by K. L. Shwengel. Anyone with a novel to share is welcome to join. Just follow the linky (the aforementioned blue dude) and click the “Add your link” button.

Arenas and His Companions Fighting the Harpies Francois Perrier, 1846-47 It was the best i could find. I know there are lovely pictures of elderly couples fighting, but I couldn't find one this time, so this will have to do.

Arenas and His Companions Fighting the Harpies
Francois Perrier, 1846-47
I know there are lovely pictures of elderly couples fighting, but I couldn’t find one this time, so this will have to do.

