WIPpet Banner

Hello! I hope you had a lovely time the last two weeks. Our family had such a beautiful break from the normal insanity. It was so nice. I didn’t go anywhere for about 5 days straight. I let our grocery supply get down to quinoa and dairy milk (which only Beloved can drink) before I bothered thinking about going out and then, when we could wait no longer, I got Beloved to do the shopping for me! It was glorious, I tell you.

Anyway, WIPpet time. I’m only giving you one paragraph this week, for the month of January. It was either that or dump over 400 words on you. The rest of this scene needs to be posted as a whole, but I figured this little blurb could stand on its own for a little while.

We last left Arvid climbing out of the spear pit smelling like last week’s unwashed gym socks…

By the riverbank, Arvid waited in a tree while Oya ran back to town for soap, clothes, and food. A few Grandmothers walked by, intent on finding the blue mushrooms used in arthritis preparations, and some children playing hookey from their chores splashed in the water until an irate woman found them out, but no one came looking for Arvid of the Prophecy. As soon as Oya appeared, Arvid shimmied down from her perch and set to cleaning off the stench of the morning. She scrubbed hard, wishing she could wash away Jedrek’s filthy thoughts.

There you have it. πŸ™‚ Next week I’ll post some backstory on Arvid’s mom. In the meantime, head on over to K. L. Schwengel’s blog to see what the other WIPpeteers are up to. There’s a wide variety of genres and writing styles, so you’re sure to find something you like. If you want to play along, post an excerpt of your WIP that somehow relates to the date and link-up with that blue froggy thing on K. L.’s blog.

Photo courtesy of David Shankbone

Photo courtesy of David Shankbone

