Banner by http://inkandpapyrusblog.wordpress.com/Hello WIPpeteers and Readers! I missed you last week! I planned on coming, but I wasn’t up to snuff and decided I better not join, just in case. I don’t think what I had was catching, but you never know.

Anyway, I’m here now, and I have tremendous news! Granted, it will be far more exciting to me than it is to you, but still! I must share! I won’t be around for a little while because a friend of mine is taking me and several other women she considers in dire need of a vacation to Mazatlan!

I know, right? ๐Ÿ˜€

 

Photo courtesy of Torres Mazatlan.

Photo courtesy of Torres Mazatlan.

My friend is already down there waiting for the rest of us. Her BFF and I leave tonight! *happy dance, happy dance* So, I’ll be chilling on the sand, munching mangoes, writing like crazy (hopefully), and doing my derndest to stave off separation anxiety relax like a boss for the next couple of weeks. (Okay, so there’s a part of me that’s as nervous as all get out. It’s my first time away from the kids for more than 24 hours. Gimme a break!)

In the meantime, I offer scheduled posts. I won’t necessarily be around to add them to the linky.ย  Or fix them if something goes wonky with the scheduler. Or comment. There will be wi-fi where I’m going, but, seriously, I can think of better things to do than spend my time on the internet. ๐Ÿ™‚

The scheduled posts will not be from Queen of Bears. Since I won’t be linking, I’ll just put up a couple blurbs from something else. Hence, this is the last QoB post for a couple weeks.

We last left Arvid walking home with a pie in each hand and one balanced on her head. I give you 17 paragraphettes. 14 for the year plus 2 for the month plus 1 for fun. If you’d like to play, too, post a snippet of your WIP that somehow corresponds to the date, then go to K. L. Schwengel’s blog to add yourself to the linky.

At her own home, Arvid expected to find the wash still hanging on the line. To her delight, someone had already taken it in. Whether it had been Mother, Father, or Kiano, she didnโ€™t know, but she intended to thank whoever it was sincerely. She tapped the door with her foot.

โ€œCome in,โ€ Mother called. Good. The casual greeting meant Father was home.

โ€œMy hands are full.โ€

โ€œPut something on your head then.โ€

โ€œIts full, too.โ€

โ€œCome in,โ€ Mother called. Good. The casual greeting meant Father was home.

โ€œMy hands are full.โ€

โ€œPut something on your head then.โ€

โ€œIts full, too.โ€

โ€œThen use your toes.โ€

Arvid rolled her eyes and tried not to grumble under her breath as she leaned onto one foot. She lifted the other foot, shifting and swaying ever so slightly to keep the pies balanced. Just as her toes reached the doorknob, it flew away from her. She caught her breath, holding it while she compensated.

โ€œPies!โ€ Kiano grabbed the one balancing on Arvidโ€™s head. He sucked the fragrance into his nostrils, eyes closed in appreciation. โ€œMmmโ€ฆ helenberry. Mother, look! Arvid brought home helenberry pie!โ€

Mother appeared at the door, half scowling, half intrigued. She snatched the two pies from Arvidโ€™s hands. โ€œWhoโ€™d you buy them from?โ€

Arvid tried to step through the door, smiling. โ€œStingy.โ€

Mother blocked the door. โ€œHow much?โ€

Arvid broadened her smile, a little too smugly, she admitted to herself, but she didnโ€™t try to check it. โ€œ$.โ€

Motherโ€™s eyebrows shot up and she stepped aside to let Arvid in. โ€œWell done. At least youโ€™ve learned that much.โ€

Shared by the German Federal Archives

Shared by the German Federal Archives

