Banner by http://inkandpapyrusblog.wordpress.com/ Happy Wednesday! Here’s a quick little snippet of an old WIP. I haven’t titled it yet, but it’s the third part of a fantasy trilogy. My math this week is extra simple. 4 paragraphs for the 4 of 2014.

To read more fun excerpts, or to play along, visit K. L. Schwengel’s blog.

When she was out of sight of the goons, Haddie collapsed to her knees, still trying to look like the victim. “You’re heavier than you look,” she grumbled to Delyth. “Well, I hope my husband was right that your goons don’t follow you when you need to pee.”

Delyth struggled weakly to sit up, muttering incoherently.

Haddie waited a full minute before daring to move again. “I guess he was right after all.” She pulled the stones out from under her skirt. “I don’t suppose you know how long they’ll wait for you, do you?”

Delyth’s eyes flashed with such impotent venom, Haddie felt an irrational giggle bubbling up her throat.  “Don’t give me that look. I’ll just drug you again if you try anything. Even if your goons do find us, you won’t be able to eat again for the rest of the trip. Not unless you can be sure we never had a chance to touch the food, and that will be very difficult. For now, I’m sure you won’t mind if I tie you up rather tightly, given that our problems with each other just got personal.”

Just a reminder, I might not be around to answer comments today. I should be able to get back to you this week, though. 🙂

