Happy Saturday! Hopefully you have at least one thing you consider fun on your agenda this weekend.  I happen to have the great fun of accepting a blog award. 🙂 Alison Stratchan, a fantasy author with a passion for making the world a better place, has kindly given me the Libester Award. To accept, I simply display the logo, answer 11 questions as penned by Alison, and pass my own set of questions on to 11 more bloggers. I hope you’ll take the time to visit each of my nominees, because the real point of these fun awards to help each other find amazing people on the web and get to know each other better.

Liebster-Blog-Award-Logo

If you’re wondering when I’ll get around to blogging about my trip to Mexico, don’t worry. I will definitely get there. I’m just waiting on pictures. (My own camera broke, but one of the gals is loading USB’s with everyone’s photos. I should have them soon.)

So , now, I’ll go ahead and make my way up to the stage. I hope the fashion journalists won’t criticize my gown too harshly. It’s hard to find anything red carpet worthy at a thrift store. At least these stilettos are fabulous. I can’t imagine why anyone would give them away. Whoops! Oh. That’s why. I hope no one saw that. Ahem.

Alright, Alison. I’m ready for your questions.

What books have shaped who you are and how you write?

At the risk of sounding like a saccharine devotee of churchianity, the Bible is, hands-down, the most influential book in my life. Other books that have shaped who I am include The 25-hour Woman, Wise Child (ironically), Don’t Check Your Brains at the Door, and several others.

As far as my writing goes, I look to specific authors for specific elements. Dickens for character descriptions, Christie for surprises, Aspirin for dialogue, Buroker for pacing, and so on.

What are you working on right now?

My primary WIP is Fairy Blood. It’s a contemporary fantasy featuring a woman struggling with an unknown disease. In a desperate search for a cure, she discovers her not-so-human heritage and embarks on many adventures.

While that’s in edits, I have a public project going on which is called, for now, The Queen of Bears. A young woman is sent on a quest to rescue a wizard. It is said among her people that the wizard will bring about the final destruction of her tribe’s greatest enemy. Only, things will not be going as planned.

Do you consider yourself to be fairly creative?

Not particularly, though I wouldn’t say I’m not creative, either.

If you haven’t already (or even if you have) would you choose self-publishing or traditional publishing?

Self.

Do you prefer ebooks or paperbacks?

They both have their merits.

Do you love or hate social media?

Yes.

Are you an introvert or extravert, and has it helped or hindered you?

I very intentionally developed extrovert behaviors during my teen years. On the inside, though, I’m usually struggling with shyness, insecurity, and the occasional wistful longing to be a hermit. I do the social butterfly thing more out of habit than anything else these days. For the most part, it’s good. I’ve met several musicians I admire (and even sometimes their families) as well as many other interesting people over the years. Most importantly, I managed to form a friendship with a very shy man whom I now call Beloved.

What piece of clothing could you not live without (apart from bra/underwear)?

Flexible, light-weight blue jeans without holes above mid-thigh.

What is more important to you – standing up for what you believe in/maintaining the truce?

Depends on the issue and the conditions of the truce. More importantly, I hope that my behavior in either instance would be graceful and courteous. I admire those people who changed hearts and not just laws, like Martin Luthor King Jr. and Ghandi.

What blunder have you made that you desperately wish didn’t happen?

Just one? 😛 Let’s see… I hope you don’t mind something distant enough to have lost its sting. One day in 6th or 7th grade I decided to wear a blouse with a wide neckline. It didn’t hide bra straps well and I was well beyond being able to go braless, so I wore a strapless bra to school. Unfortunately, I forgot to take a sports bra for P.E. Of all the days to forget, I managed to pick the day we were to be tested on how many times we could jump rope in a minute. Each of us was assigned a partner to do the counting. I was the only girl in the class to get partnered with a boy. To make it worse, I had a puppy crush on him. Oooooh the humiliation. I had to stop several times to hitch my bra up from my waist. By the time my minute was up, I had formulated several plans to run away and never return. My poor partner couldn’t look at me at all, let alone meet my eyes, for weeks.

If you could go anywhere in the world and make a difference, where would it be?

I’m not sure. Are we talking end-of-the-world-as-we-know-it difference, like the Guttenberg Press? Or something subtler, like the work of David James Traver? For many years I really wanted to go to Indonesia to do medical missions work. Right now, my job is to make a difference at home, with my kids, and I’m content with that. We’ll see how life goes. My husband and I are happy just about anywhere as long as we can be of use.

Liebster-definition-300x188Now that I’ve answered Alison’s questions, it’s time for me to give the Libester Award to a few of you.If you look back at the other awards I’ve passed out, you’ll notice a distinct pattern in my nominees. In other words, I tend to nominate the same people over and over. This time, I’m determined to nominate new folks. I still love all my usuals dearly, but it’s someone else’s turn.

Umm… I’m not sure who will respond. I don’t get around the blogosphere as much as I might like to so I’ve only engaged with a few of these lovely folks. Still, I’d like to get to know them better. In no particular order, I nominate…

Elsie Bowen-Dodoo

Doomsday Writer

Chloe Leigh Corin

Shanah Davis

Eli Glasman – a heads-up on this fellow. We are nothing alike. If you go to his blog expecting something even remotely similar to mine, you’ll be either disappointed or shocked. (All the more reason I’d like to see his answers, if he decides to play.)

Xina Uhl

Geralyn Wichers

Lara McGill

David J Steele

Shan Jeniah

Jodi Woody

My questions for my nominees follow. For those of you who decide to play, please make sure to come back and leave your link in my comments so I and my readers know where to find your post. 🙂

  1. Do you prefer to spend a leisurely hour at the library or the bookstore?
  2. Who’s the better friend? James Kirk or Luke Skywalker?
  3. Would you rather have tea with Buttercup (Princess Bride) or Sarah (Labyrinth)? (If you somehow managed to miss both – you know who you are –  pick between Queen Victoria and Annie Oakley.)
  4. Who was your favorite childhood author?
  5. Do you have a favorite poem?
  6. What is your favorite reading snack, including beverage?
  7. If you could climb into any novel and live in that world, which would you pick?
  8. If you could pull the main character out of any novel to live in our world, who would it be?
  9. Among the books you’ve read, which had the most frightening villain and what made him or her or it so scary?
  10. What fictional character (novel or movie) do you think has the most wonderfully tragic death?
  11.  Without looking it up (no cheating), what does “decadent” mean?
