WIPpet Banner

I almost missed it, but I still have some Wednesday left here in Alaska. Since I have much to do and less time to do it, I’ll make mthis post especially brief. If you don’t already know, WIPpet Wednesday is a fun blog hop hosted by the lovely K.L. Schwengel. To participate, post a snippet of your WIP that somehow corresponds with the date and add your linky here.

For the 2nd of April, I give you 2 paragraphs from Queen of Bears. As usual, they follow last week’s post, except I skipped three transition paragraphs to make this excerpt a little more fun. Essentially, the skipped paragraphs say: Arvid and the donkey walked all day and then they were tired. They saw a stream and decided to spend the night. Arvid ate dinner and went to sleep.

She opened her eyes at twilight. Something woke her, but what? The donkey stood nearby, breathing deeply. Roots and pebbles pushed against her back and thighs. Leaves fluttered in the chilly breeze. The stream burbled along its banks. Arvid sorted through these things, trying to decide which was the culprit.

A twig snapped. Arvid came fully awake. What if Jedrek or one of his cronies followed her? Or perhaps some large predatory animal scented the donkey and wanted it for dinner. As inconspicuously as possible, she reached for the knife concealed in the furs of her bedroll, hoping it would make a reasonable defense. If nothing else, it might give her time to get to a more effective weapon.

That’s it. You’ll have to find out what woke her up next week. 😉

Oh! And I have all my Mexico pictures ready. I’ll start posting them on Saturday. 🙂

 

Rapid_stream

