WIPpet Banner

Hello!It’s WIPpet Wednesday, time for the WIPpeteers to share snippets of their works in progress. To join, post an excerpt of your current WIP that somehow corresponds to the date, add your blog to the linky, and send a bouquet of poppies to our hostess, K. L. Schwengel.

This week I’m saying no to complicated WIPpet math and offering 16 lines. I’m sorry for leaving you hanging last week. Something came up. We last left Arvid clutching a knife under her blankets, waiting to see what made that twig snap…

A smiling face popped into view. A very familiar face. “Oya?”

“I knew I couldn’t sneak up on you.”

“What are you doing here?”

Oya knelt on the edge of the bedroll. Arvid shifted to give her more room. “Following you. You didn’t think I’d let you go without saying goodbye, did you?”

“I didn’t have a choice.”

“There’s always a choice.”

Arvid rolled her eyes. “Well, anyway, I didn’t have much of one. What did Master say when you told him you were coming after me?”

“He didn’t say anything to me. He must have told the Elders, though, because a messenger caught up with me a couple hours after I left to warn me to be back home in ten days.”

“Or else…?”

 

Or else, indeed. Either Oya could be exiled with Arvid, or I could come up with something different. Maybe some kind of loss of status or a threat to her family. Something motivating. Any ideas?

Oh... just chillin'

Oh… just chillin’

