WIPpet Banner

Welcome back. πŸ™‚ Things are getting a little crazy around here. My stepsister’s wedding, four birthdays, Father’s Day, and Independence Day are all crammed into a three week period so we’re getting geared up for all that fun stuff. Before I go do that, though, I’d like to thank K.L. Schwengel for hosting WIPpet Wednesday. Apologies in advance if I am slow to get around to everyone.

Math = 2nd digit of the date = 7 paragraphs

Character descriptions:

Arvid 5’6β€³, dark copper skin, long brown hair, brown eyes, athletic build.

Taiamuk 6’3β€³, long red hair, gray eyes, a multitude of freckles, numerous scars, muscles a la Jackie Chan. Notable scars include three stab wounds on his right side and a long, horizontal gash across his chest. Owns one piece of clothing: trousers.

Necessary Context:

Takes place after the last post. Arvid collected some sap to boil down for candy and she has just finished collecting some snow to pour the syrup over. It’s not very exciting, but it sets up a scene I plan to share later. Rough draft with spoilers cut, so please forgive choppiness.

She grabbed the bowl and went back inside. Tai watched with his head tilted to one side and his brow crinkled while she poured the hot syrup onto the snow to make swirling patterns. He leaned close to the bowl, getting in her way until she shooed him off. Warm, familiar feelings bubbled up in her, stirred by memories of evenings spent making candy with Oya while their brothers pranced nearby, eager to be the first to get a piece.

She poured off the last fluid bit of syrup. No matter what, some stuck to the pot. In the morning, she’d add water to melt it off and make a sweet tea. For now, she lifted a candy and offered it to Tai. To her dismay, her stomach squiggled with nervousness. The realization she put value on his opinion outside of sparring made the feeling worse, so she put on her neutral battle expression and held her breath, hoping to keep from revealing the embarrassing desire for approval.

He turned the piece of candy around to study it, holding it in front of the fire to see the way the light filtered through the amber swirls. After an experimental nibble, he tossed the piece into his mouth, closed his eyes, leaned back on one elbow, and stretched his legs out in front of him. β€œMmm. You cook good.”

For a heartbeat, Arvid kept the delighted smile off her face. He barely deserved her respect, and that only as a fighter, after all.Β  But she relented and gave up. Tai returned the smile and reached for more.

Arvid snatched the candy away. β€œNo more tonight.”

Tai rolled his eyes, sat up, and ruffled her hair. β€œRu’teh’n masik chup. You good.”

She batted him away, much to his amusement. While he took the first bath, she wrapped the candy in a clean rag, covered the pot for the night, and piled on the logs necessary to keep the hut survivable until the sun rose to warm the world again.

Image from http://fodmapliving.com And seriously, it took too flippin' long to find a picture I liked. I seriously considered making some syrup swirls myself and then taking a picture of them for you. There are days I'm like, "I need an illustrator." So that's what I'm gonna do if I'm ever rich and famous. Hire an illustrator.

Maple Caramel image from http://fodmapliving.com
It took too flippin’ long to find a picture I liked. I seriously considered making some syrup swirls myself and then taking a picture of them for you. There are days I’m like, “I need an illustrator for my blog.” So that’s what I’m gonna do if I’m ever rich and famous. Hire an illustrator.

To join WIPpet Wednesday…

  1. Post a snippet of your WIP that relates to the date
  2. Thank K.L. Schwengel
  3. Link up here
  4. Enjoy good writing
