WIPpet Banner

I’m late! I’m late for a very important date! By a week and several hours. However, as it’s still Wednesday here in Alaska, I’m going to pretend last week never happened and call it good.

I came to a part in Queen of Bears where I knew what I wanted to happen, but hadn’t actually written it yet. So, I sat down to write it and, guess what? Neither Arvid nor Tai wanted me to write the scene. Nope. Not at all. This does not happen very often. I’ve had writer’s block due to Arvid refusing to have something written while Tai hopped up and down in the back of my head practically singing, “Write the scene, write the scene, pretty please right now write the scene,” but this is the first time they both refused. *sigh*

Well, usually when Arvid is being stubborn about having something written, I go to Tai. He’s really the talkative one. Quite often, if I can get him to tell me his POV of a scene, Arvid will pipe up to correct him share her side of the story. Since he wasn’t talking either, I called up Abigail Erryne and asked her to put Adrienne on the phone. Most of you have met Adrienne, I think. She’s a sweet young lady with a partner/trainer named Levi. She also happens to be Tai’s best friend outside his mythos. He’s very fond of her. Adrienne has a way of recognizing strengths in him he doesn’t recognize himself. (I should point out, she’s also well-acquainted with his weaknesses.) I think the same can be said vice versa.

Anyway. Adrienne obligingly lectured Tai for me. She did a great job of it, too. He started out slow, but he FINALLY told me what I needed to know. Now, this story is officially from Arvid’s POV all the way through, but that doesn’t mean I don’t have things written in Tai’s POV. Now that I have Tai’s piece written, Arvid will tell me hers, but since he piped up first, I’m giving you his POV today.

So, now that you have all the background info, here are 5 paragraphs of Tai’s POV for the last digit of the year. This comes pre-dawn the morning after last week’s post. You can all thank our gracious hostess, K.L. Schwengel, for this glimpse into Tai’s entertaining (I think) head. Warning! He tends to ramble.

Character descriptions:

Arvid 5’6″, dark copper skin, long brown hair, brown eyes, athletic build.

Taiamuk 6’3″, long red hair, gray eyes, a multitude of freckles, numerous scars, muscles a la Jackie Chan. Notable scars include three stab wounds on his right side and a long, horizontal gash across his chest. Owns one piece of clothing: trousers.

Necessary Context:

See introduction to post.

Her silky black hair framed her beautiful, dark face. Tai brushed an errant strand back into place with its fellows. He knew better than to stare at her as she slept, it only made the emptiness worse, but he gave up fighting this one desire months ago. Her soft exhale filled the space between them, swirling across his skin, tracing patterns of heat where he wanted touch. The kiss still burned on his lips, hot as the fire he started, the fire that almost killed her. He closed his eyes and swallowed down the guilt-spawned sickness. If she died because of him…

She shifted in her sleep, brushing against him and bringing his mind back from its morbid wanderings. She lived. More scars decorated her luscious copper skin, but she lived. He groaned and flopped back into his usual place, with his arm around her waist and her curves pressed into him, fitting with agonizing perfection. For warmth. Just warmth. They lived and worked together, sharing everything, including a bed, but never the way nature intended a man and woman to share a bed.

The rejection gnawed at him. She didn’t love him. If not that, a jealous husband lurked in her past. Both possibilities filled him with desperation. He wanted her love and her fidelity. He wanted to be the one she greeted each morning with a kiss, the one she lulled into satisfied slumber with her own, particular love song.

He shook his head to banish the daydreams. He needed to pull back, center himself elsewhere. No woman ever filled his head like this before. He sat up, propped his elbows on his knees, and rested his head in his hands. No other woman would ever fill his head like this. Come spring, he would go home, find heaving bosoms lined up to warm his sheets, and never spend a moment thinking about any of the women they belonged to.

Survive, return, report, and then do what he came up the mountain to do before he met Arvid. He wouldn’t look at her, wouldn’t touch her except to keep her from freezing to death at night, wouldn’t try to speak to her. He would train alone during the day, sparring against trees, rocks, and water. Maybe, if he isolated himself from her as much as their circumstances allowed, going home wouldn’t hurt so much.

To join WIPpet Wednesday…

  1. Post a snippet of your WIP that relates to the date
  2. Thank K.L. Schwengel
  3. Link up here
  4. Enjoy good writing
