ROW80Logocopy

First week is always the easiest, right? Let’s see how I’m doing so far…

Blogging

I will…

  • participate in Mirth and Music Monday 3+ times per month, because my buddy Rose D’Andrea has been awesome to keep it going for this long and I want to show her support. Also, it’s fun. 1 out of 3
  • participate in WIPpet Wednesday 2+ times per month, because I want to support my WIPpeteer buddies with encouragement and take advantage of the opportunity to be encouraged.
  • post 1 interview, review, or article per month, because helping each other out is what writing bloggers do and I have thoughts to share.
  • encourage 2 other ROW80ers per check-in, because others need encouragement, too. Accomplished for round opener.

 

Community

I will…

  • start 3 social skills groups to meet weekly, because 3 out of my 4 and many other children in Anchorage and the surrounding communities are in need of a safe, semi-structured environment in which to practice skills most people take for granted. Contacted various people in search of venues.
  • invite someone new over, because, too often, I allow self-consciousness about my housekeeping to keep me from enjoying guests. Made a new friend at the library with tentative plans for playdates.

 

Family

I will…

  • collect school samples for each subject from each child weekly, because it will make paperwork time easier thus allowing us to take a small break at the end of the semester.
  • play 1 board/card/dinner game per week, because my children love them.
  • compliment each member of my immediate family on a specific action or attitude every day, because nice words help good things grow.
  • read to the kids 3+ nights per week, because it gives them books in common to discuss among themselves and it creates fond memories they can enjoy together in the future.

 

Health

I will…

  • walk 1+ hour per day, 4+ days per week, because my mind and body do best with long chunks of exercise.
  • stretch 6+ days per week, because it prevents tension headaches and multiple other aches and pains, and because it’s fun to watch people’s eyes pop when I show off. (Just being honest.)
  • seek answers to my joint problems, because I want to be able to type and walk when I’m 60.

 

Homemaking

I will…

  • purge our wardrobes, because the laundry situation is out of control.
  • remove the popcorn ceiling in the living room and kitchen, because I don’t like popcorn ceiling, I want to paint the ceilings, and it will save money over hiring a professional to de-popcorn the whole house.
  • add 100 stars to the half-bath, because it’s a tiny room that needs something extra special to compensate for the limited space.
  • work on one new home habit per week, because they benefit everyone in the house. (These were all pre-determined by me during the summer. I’ll post which goal I’m working on as I pick them.)
    • THIS WEEK: Spend 90 sec. cleaning a room whenever I enter it.
  • fix up the school walls, because they are getting rather drab and I want them to excite interest and encourage learning.

 

Reading

I will…

  • read 1 book club book per month, because it will challenge me to read books I might not otherwise have considered and give me the opportunity to discuss them with others. I have this month’s book on hold at the library, but I’m not optimistic about getting it in time to read it.
  • read 1 non-fiction book per month, because learning about Autism Spectrum Disorders, ADHD, teaching, and so on gives me inspiration and wisdom for being the best I can be for my family. Borrowed 3 books by Temple Grandin from the library.
  • read 1 book OR 10 articles on writing OR marketing per month, because writing is my chosen profession and I want to be one of the best. 1 article read.
  • read up to 1 beta book per month, because I can’t expect others to help me if I don’t help them. It’s also lots of fun to get sneak peeks and have the satisfaction of knowing I helped someone improve their writing. In progress.
  • read 1 just-for-fun book per month, because reading is my escape and I don’t want to burn out on it with obligatory books. Borrowed a Tommy & Tuppence audiobook from the library. (audiobooks count because they allow me to multi-task, which is going to be very necessary to meet any of my goals. 😉 )

 

Spirituality

I will…

  • write 1 journal entry per week, because reflection helps me to see how God has blessed me during the week.
  • add 3 scripture-art pieces to my home, because I love seeing Truth presented beautifully.

 

Writing

I will…

  • publish 1 short story on Kindle and Smashwords, because it will allow me to familiarize myself with the process.
  • finish the current round of editing on Faerie Blood, because I have been stalled out long enough and the things that were stopping me before are gone now.
  • complete character backgrounds for Zeeb, Seraph, and Kel, because I want to reevaluate my series plan and I believe knowing my characters well will help me write a better story.

 

PHEW! Quite the list, isn’t it? Here’s to working hard and hoping harder!

 

Many thanks to Kait Nolan for hosting ROW-80, Shan Jeniah Burton for encouraging me to join in, and to all the sponsors who help us along the way. To join, visit this page for details.

 

Center

