ROW80LogocopyHappy Wednesday. I hope you’re doing well.

I got two biggish projects knocked out on Monday and Wednesday. Woohoo! I think I’m just going to try to make it Get the Big Stuff Done Week so next week will be more relaxed. My regular school planning marathon is coming up, and that is all that will be happening for a while. Here’s hoping I’m ready for it!

Color Coding Key

  • Red – Not started.
  • Pink – In progress.
  • Green – Ongoing goal completed for the check-in/week/month.
  • Aqua with strike out – Goal reached.
  • Yellow – New goal.
  • Plain text with strike out followed by Orange – Goal altered.
  • Gray – Goal dropped. (Hopefully there won’t be any of these.)

Blogging

I will…

  • participate in Mirth and Music Monday 3+ times per month, because my buddy Rose D’Andrea has been awesome to keep it going for this long and I want to show her support. Also, it’s fun. 1 out of 3. 
  • participate in WIPpet Wednesday 2+ times per month, because I want to support my WIPpeteer buddies with encouragement and take advantage of the opportunity to be encouraged. Participate in WIPpet Wednesday 1+ times per month. See this post for the reason for the change. I have an idea what to post. 
  • post 1 interview, review, or article per month, because helping each other out is what writing bloggers do and I have thoughts to share. Not yet done. 1 out of 3 this round.
  • encourage 2 other ROW80ers per check-in, because others need encouragement, too.  Done for 05-08-16

 

Community

I will…

  • start 3 social skills groups to meet weekly, because 3 out of my 4 and many other children in Anchorage and the surrounding communities are in need of a safe, semi-structured environment in which to practice skills most people take for granted. No further progress this week. I believe it is definitely going to need to be hosted in my home. Which is intimidating.
  • invite someone new over, because, too often, I allow self-consciousness about my housekeeping to keep me from enjoying guests.

 

Family

I will…

  • collect school samples for each subject from each child weekly, because it will make paperwork time easier thus allowing us to take a small break at the end of the semester. DONE!!! And, and, AND, I turned in our year-end paperwork. I may not have gotten this goal accomplished in whole at all this round, but even attempting served its purpose. One afternoon was all I needed and I didn’t have to ask the kids to quick do some work in this subject or that because I’d unthinkingly thrown everything in recycling already (which has happened sooo many times). That being the case, I’m going to go ahead and mark the goal accomplished for the whole round. If I participate in the fall and winter rounds (planning to), I’ll add it back in. 🙂
  • play 1 board/card/dinner game per week, because my children love them. Not yet.  1 out of 12 this round.
  • compliment each member of my immediate family on a specific action or attitude every day, because nice words help good things grow. Not enough. But I’ve had some nice conversations with each of them.
  • read to the kids 3+ nights per week, because it gives them books in common to discuss among themselves and it creates fond memories they can enjoy together in the future. 3 out of 3 
  • get ready for the new school year, because it is necessary and much work during the sunny summer months when the kids can play outside is better than scrambling in August or September. Broken down, this goal includes the following steps:
    • research high school requirements
    • determine objectives for the 2016-2017 school year
    • plan curriculum and resource purchases
    • figure out extras (music, swimming, and so on) for the kids, find teachers/additional therapists, and budget for any classes
    • submit my children’s Individual Learning Plans (ILP’s)
    • begin compiling necessary paperwork for filing an Individual Education Plan (IEP) for Reader and consider filing for Builder
    • figure out a way to make stuff fit
    • update my planning pages to reflect changes

 

Health

I will…

  • walk 1+ hour 40+ minutes per day, 4+ 3+ days per week, because my mind and body do best with long chunks of exercise. 1 out of 3. Reason for change: I increased the intensity of the workouts.
  • stretch 6+ days per week, because it prevents tension headaches and multiple other aches and pains, and because it’s fun to watch people’s eyes pop when I show off. (Just being honest.)  2 out of 6. 
  • seek answers to my joint problems, because I want to be able to type and walk when I’m 60.

 

Homemaking

I will…

  • purge our wardrobes, because the laundry situation is out of control 
  • remove the popcorn ceiling in the living room and kitchen, because I don’t like popcorn ceiling, I want to paint the ceilings, and it will save money over hiring a professional to de-popcorn the whole house. Not yet started.
  • add 100 stars to the half-bath, because it’s a tiny room that needs something extra special to compensate for the limited space. No further progress since last week. o out of 100.
  • work on one new home habit per week, because they benefit everyone in the house. (These were all predetermined by me during the summer. I’ll post which goal I’m working on as I pick them. 1 out of 12 this round.
    • THIS WEEK:  Spend 2 minutes cleaning each room as I enter it (got my timers. 😀 ) Sort of on Monday. Not so much Tuesday.
    • Last Week: Get everyone to make their beds every morning. Nope.
    • Previous Week: Get everyone to bring their laundry down to be washed every morning. Nope.
  • fix up the school walls, because they are getting rather drab and I want them to excite interest and encourage learning. No further progress since last week.

 

Reading

I will…

  • read 1 book club book per month, because it will challenge me to read books I might not otherwise have considered and give me the opportunity to discuss them with others. Borrowed audiobook from library. 0 out of 3 this round.
  • read 1 non-fiction book per month, because learning about Autism Spectrum Disorders, ADHD, teaching, and so on gives me inspiration and wisdom for being the best I can be for my family. Not yet started. 1 out of 3 this round.
  • read 1 book OR 10 articles on writing OR marketing per month, because writing is my chosen profession and I want to be one of the best. Not yet done. 0 out of 3 this round.
  • read up to 1 beta book per month quarter, because I can’t expect others to help me if I don’t help them. It’s also lots of fun to get sneak peeks and have the satisfaction of knowing I helped someone improve their writing. Done for this month. 2 out of 3 this round. Reason for change: one a month is more than I can keep balanced with the rest of life. 
  • read 1 just-for-fun book per month, because reading is my escape and I don’t want to burn out on it with obligatory books. Not yet done.  1 out of 3 this round.

 

Spirituality

I will…

  • write 1 journal entry per week, because reflection helps me to see how God has blessed me during the week. Not yet done. 
  • add 3 scripture-art pieces to my home, because I love seeing Truth presented beautifully. No further progress. 0 out of 3.

 

Writing

I will…

  • publish 1 short story on Kindle and Smashwords, because it will allow me to familiarize myself with the process. Still stalled.
  • finish the current round of editing on Faerie Blood, because I have been stalled out long enough and the things that were stopping me before are gone now. No further progress.
  • complete character backgrounds for Zeeb, Seraph, and Kel, because I want to reevaluate my series plan and I believe knowing my characters well will help me write a better story. Not yet started.

 

Many thanks to Kait Nolan for hosting ROW-80, Shan Jeniah Burton for encouraging me to join in, and to all the sponsors who help us along the way. To join, visit this page for details.

Which Step?

